U. S. House of Representatives Washington, D. C. 20515

August 4, 2015

Andrew Slavitt, Acting Administrator Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Department of Health and Human Services Hubert H. Humphrey Building, Room 445-G 200 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, D.C. 20201

Dear Acting Administrator Slavitt,

We write to express our serious concerns with provisions relating to biosimilar reimbursement in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' (CMS) 2016 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule proposed rule.

Specifically, we are concerned with the agency's proposal to assign all biosimilars of a single reference product one Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) code and to reimburse biosimilars with the same HCPCS code based on the weighted average of their average sales price under Medicare Part B.

In this proposal, CMS treats biosimilars as if they are generic drugs. As a primary matter, it is important to recognize that traditional small-molecule pharmaceuticals and biologics are fundamentally different in their development, manufacture and chemical makeup. A biologic is a large, complex molecule, which is grown in living systems such as a microorganism, a plant or animal cell.

These differences are acknowledged by the statutory provisions establishing the biosimilars pathway and by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Section 1847A of the Social Security Act ("SSA"), 42 U.S.C. § 1395w-3a states that the calculation for reimbursing biosimilars shall be made separately, such that each biosimilar will have its own unique payment rate and unique HCPCS code. This language reflects congressional intent to encourage a vibrant biosimilars market and we urge you to enact a final payment rule that provides each biosimilar with a unique code.

Thank you for your attention to this highly important issue and we look forward to your timely response. If you need further assistance, please contact Hannah Murphy in

Congresswoman Anna Eshoo's office at Hannah.Murphy@mail.house.gov or Krista Rosenthall in Congressman Joe Barton's office at Krista.Rosenthall@mail.house.gov.

	TETISTATION OF THE PROPERTY.
Respectfully,	
Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress	Joe Barton Member of Congress
Dain Delette Diana DeGette Member of Congress	Gus Bilirakis Member of Congress
Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress	Susan W. Brooks Member of Congress
Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress	Pete Olson Member of Congress
Ed Whitfield Member of Congress	Peter Welch Member of Congress
Leonard Lance Member of Congress	Larry Bucston, M.D. Member of Congress
Bul Revyy Bill Pascrell, Jr.	Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Billy Long	Chris Collins
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Patrick Meehan	Brett Guthrie
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Zinda J. Sinemas Linda Sánchez Member of Congress	Kurt Schrader Member of Congress
Doris Matsui Doris Matsui Member of Congress	Dave Loebsack Member of Congress
Tony Cárdenas	Peter J. Roskam
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Vern Buchanan Member of Congress	Diane Black Member of Congress
Tom Price, M.D.	Devir Nunes
Member of Congress	Member of Congress

Robert E. Latta Member of Congress

Ron Kind Member of Congress

Lynn Jenkins

Member of Congress

Jackie Speie

Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress