HOW INDIANA'S COUNTY-BASED PASSENGER RAIL OPERATING ENTITY IS STRUCTURED

The following is from: http://www.in.gov/indot/3120.htm

Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District

In 1977 the Indiana General Assembly passed legislation enabling the four counties served by the South Shore (St. Joseph, LaPorte, Porter and Lake counties) to create The Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District (NICTD) for the sole purpose of maintaining and improving South Shore passenger service.

The Indiana Public Mass Transportation Fund (PMTF) provides NICTD with an annual set-aside percentage (12.34%) of the total PMTF amount available (\$29.5 million in 2005) for operating and capital needs. NICTD is the owner/operator of the South Shore rail passenger service. NICTD operates between the Michiana Regional Airport in South Bend, Indiana, and Randolph Street Station in Chicago. The line is approximately 90 miles in length. NICTD serves the principal Indiana Communities of Hammond, East Chicago, Gary, Ogden Dunes/Portage, Chesterton, Michigan City, and South Bend. NICTD also serves Hegewisch and neighboring communities of southeast Chicago.

NICTD's primary mission is to provide safe, reliable transportation to its customers. With financial aid from federal and state governments, NICTD has begun a major capital improvement program designed to:

- Enhance safety
- Improve service reliability
- Reduce travel time to the Loop
- Improve rush hour capacity
- Improve passenger amenities at key stations (parking, security, real time information on train status, and passenger waiting areas).

Ridership has grown dramatically since the establishment of NICTD and the infusion of federal and state operating funds. Weekday ridership is dominated by rush hour commuters. In 2003 NICTD carried 3,573,571 passengers for a total of 3,233,628 vehicle miles.

HOW INDIANA FUNDS ITS TRAINS:

The following is from: http://www.indianatransportationassociation.com/legislativeposition.htm

The ITA believes that the Public Mass Transportation Fund (PMTF), the Commuter Rail Service Fund (CRSF), and the Electric Rail Service Fund (ERSF) must remain dedicated funding programs. Currently, the PMTF is funded from a dedicated .67 of one percent and the CRSF is funded from .123 of one percent of sales and use taxes collected statewide. The ERSF is a special state fund generated from property tax on a railroad company's distributable property that provides service with a commuter transportation district established under IC 8-5-15. The Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District (NICTD) is currently the only commuter rail district eligible to receive the CRSF and the ERSF. In the future, if other communities develop commuter rail service, these funds must be increased so as to not dilute the existing funding for NICTD.

The ITA believes that the PMTF should be increased to adjust for the growth in the number of eligible agencies in the past several years and the costs associated with operating transportation services to an increasingly suburbanized state. In 1996, there were 32 transit systems in the PMTF formula. For FY 2009, INDOT included 61 systems in the formula, an increase of 29 operators. The ITA supports the existing performance based formula used to distribute the PMTF as a means of encouraging and rewarding the efficient provision of public transit service.

Ken Prendergast
Executive Director
All Aboard Ohio
12029 Clifton Blvd., Suite 505
Cleveland, OH 44107
(216) 288-4883
kenprendergast@allaboardohio.org
www.allaboardohio.org